276°
Posted 20 hours ago

White Oleander

£3.995£7.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

White Oleander‚ a flower‚ a hearty-but-poisonous flower whose beauty makes it appear deceptively fragile. This flower‚ can stand has a metaphor for Ingrid. Ingrid is strong‚ beautiful‚ and self-possessed‚ but she acts as a poison to everyone around her‚ especially her impressionable daughter‚ Astrid‚ who idolizes her mother. An universal theme in this story is the that of a child trying to escape from the pernicious influence of a misguided parent. It continues to develop into a story over dominance

Thirteen-year-old Astrid Magnussen, the sensitive and heart-wrenching narrator of this impressive debut, is burdened with an impossible mother in Ingrid, a beautiful gifted poet whose scattered life is governed by an enormous ego. The Santa Anas blew in hot from the desert, shriveling the last of the spring grass into whiskers of pale straw. Only the oleanders thrived, their delicate poisonous blooms, their dagger green leaves. We could not sleep in the hot dry nights, my mother and I. I woke up at midnight to find her bed empty. I climbed to the roof and easily spotted her blond hair like a white flame in the light of the three-quarter moon. In comparison to this, my past was smoke, a story my mother once told me and later denied. No onyxes for me, no aquamarines memorializing the lives of my ancestors. I had only their eyes, their hands, the shape of a nose, a nostalgia for snowfall and carved wood.

You know the mistrust of heights is the mistrust of self, you don't know whether you're going to jump.” Thank you for accepting my friendship request, it's always appreciated. Also, I wanted to tell you that White Oleander has been ..." We have 12 read-alikes for White Oleander, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.

Also, being that I was raised and currently live on the outskirts of LA, I also really enjoyed the way Los Angeles and its white oleanders and Fairfax heat played a veritable character of its own here.I liked that Ingrid was a poet in the book, instead of an artist as she was in the movie. I loved the way her words and writing and letters accomplished their own goals. The award winning, ever-thoughtful, doggedly optimistic, novelist of grass roots America Susan Straight (author of eight novels including this year's Mecca, plus a memoir, In the Country of Women), has just released a Literary Map of America, real America, in 1000 works of fiction. As a reader, I'm screaming with delight to see regions of the nation through her eyes. The diverse collection of nove

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment